Public Holidays in Mauritius

There are 15 annual public holidays in Mauritius. Seven of these are fixed holidays: 1st January; 1st February; 12th March; 1st May; 2nd November; and 25th December. The remaining public holidays are religious festivals with dates that vary from year to year.

Muslim holidays occur according to local sightings of phases of the moon; the dates given below are based on the Umm al-Qura Calendar of Saudi Arabia and may be subject to local variations such as holidays starting a day later. Many Muslim holidays, especially the Eids, last between 3 and 4 days.

Note: The Muslim day starts at sunset and not at midnight; therefore the holidays listed here actually begin the evening before the displayed date.

Hindu public holidays in Mauritius are based on the Hindu Lunar calendar and include the following holidays:

New Year Holiday – 1st Jan
Thaipoosam Cavadee (Hindu Festival) – 18th Jan
Abolition of Slavery Day – 1st Feb
Chinese Spring Festival – 1st Feb
Maha Shivaratree – 1st Mar
Independence & Republic Day – 12th Mar
Ougadi (Telugu & Kannada Day) – 2nd Apr
Labour Day – 1st May
Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) – 3rd May
Assumption Day – 15th Aug
Ganesh Chathurthi – 1st Sep
Diwali (Festival of Lights) – 24th Oct
Arrival of Indentured Labourers – 2nd Nov
Christmas Day – 25th Dec.

Latest update: Mauritius Public Holidays: 30 December, 2022